//
you're reading...
peace corps, year one

swear-in and pa’lante

Written Sunday, May 15, 2011

On Wednesday, I officially swore in as a Peace Corps Volunteer! I was incredibly elated. I started the application process in early February 2010 (almost ready to get on a plane and get to work) so to actually be official is pretty exciting. The ceremony was really nice. Not gonna lie, I actually got pretty emotional. I’m not sure if it was the excitement of being official, or being away from home and feeling like I had a connection with my fellow Americans, or just knowing that I was actually beginning something that’s been such a long time coming. I sang the Star-Spangled Banner, and I’ve never been more proud to sing our anthem as I was right then and there. I was VERY nervous, moreso than usual before I sing (I think because I was in front of diplomats and such…who knows), but I think I did a decent job. Here’s the video:

Anyway, I’m back in my community now, and I’ve been here since Friday. All the neighborhood kids were happy to see me again. And I’m really glad to be back to what’s now home for me. It felt so good to get on the bus on my own and travel here. I felt really overwhelmed with joy, and I felt like I was just in God’s hands. So now it’s time to sit down and really plan out what I’ll be doing for the next two years…and how.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “swear-in and pa’lante

  1. You look beautiful as usual (smile)…can’t wait to see the video

    Posted by Ummi | May 17, 2011, 7:42 pm
  2. That was my babee and she even knows the words!!! LOL

    I’M SOOOOOOOO PROUD OF YOU, I’M SO PROUD OF YOU…HEY HEY HEY!!!

    Posted by Ummi | May 17, 2011, 7:48 pm
  3. thank you! :)

    Posted by laila | May 19, 2011, 8:19 am
  4. LAAAAAIIIIIILLLLLLLAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *screams* *faints*

    This is awesome! You so totally rock!!!!! :)

    Posted by Kimber | June 27, 2011, 3:31 pm

Leave a Reply

the script

1 Corin. 15:57-58
But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.

calendario

May 2011
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

archivo

follow me as i follow @christ

by the way…

now that i've started blogging about the peace corps (and i'm an official volunteer), i have to tell you that all thoughts and views you read on this page are exclusively mine, and not those of the peace corps or the us government. after all, it's not called "us govt in real life."
