//
you're reading...
peace corps, year one

my birthday in the DR

Written Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Usually for my birthday, my girls come up and we go out to eat, or to the movies or on a road trip and have a sleepover. This year, two weeks before my birthday, I almost forgot that it was approaching. For my birthday, the neighborhood kids all made me cards. My host mom made the best lunch: rice, beans, chicken, a TON of avocado, and these little yucca cakes which were wooooonderful. At night my project partner and her family came over and my host mom made what they call asopa’o. It’s kind of like stew with rice, and I think it’s my favorite thing to eat here. I admit, it felt weird being in a foreign country on my birthday, but I enjoyed the day, and I’m grateful for another year of life. 27 is going to be the best one yet. :)

Discussion

3 thoughts on “my birthday in the DR

  1. Wow Lailand! You receive more of a royal treatment! I don’t think our sleepovers and dinner can compare, lol. I’m glad you enjoyed your birthday.

    Posted by Candace | August 24, 2011, 11:55 am
  2. yay! sounds great! i’m so glad you had a great time…i was worried it wouldn’t be as fun…but it may have been more fun than some of my bdays shoot! lol love you!

    Posted by fatimahforester | August 24, 2011, 2:17 pm

Leave a Reply

the script

1 Corin. 15:57-58
But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.

calendario

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

archivo

follow me as i follow @christ

  • just finished @PeaceCorps service! grateful for new friendships & much growth. here's to accomplishing more goals & living out more dreams! 1 month ago
  • happy birthday, stephen! you can almost elect idiots.... make it a great year. :) @duhchosenjuan 1 year ago
  • @duhchosenjuan i can't believe it either! :) 1 year ago
  • RT @LisaMcClendon: We talk about how life isn't the way it use to be. But we have the power to resurrect the life we want. 1 year ago
  • RT @LisaMcClendon: 10 min Family Devotion: Genesis 1:1 "In the beginning, God CREATED....." We too have the power to CREATE w/ our words. C… 1 year ago

by the way…

now that i've started blogging about the peace corps (and i'm an official volunteer), i have to tell you that all thoughts and views you read on this page are exclusively mine, and not those of the peace corps or the us government. after all, it's not called "us govt in real life."
