//
you're reading...
peace corps, year one

soundtrack

Written Tuesday, April 23

I live for Thursdays. On Thursdays, I go for an hour to guitar lessons. I don’t know why I didn’t pick up learning guitar before, but I now have a new love in my life! I’ve wanted to learn guitar for a long time, and now I have time to do it. The musician at the Catholic church is showing me some fundamentals and teaching me some songs, and I have a chord book and learn a lot of songs (mostly praise and worship music) on the Internet. A few weeks ago, the high school participated in an English-singing competition, and the organizing teacher asked me to be a judge and to render a song. I was still learning a lot on guitar, but I figured it was a good opportunity to try out some of what I’d been learning. I sang and play Moving Forward (Israel Houghton). I was rusty in a few spots, but I’m glad I stepped out. Everyone loved it.

I’ve also recently started working with the chorus in my high school. This has been a lot of fun. The choir was initially under the guidance of two teachers, who were struggling to keep meeting because, obviously they have to teach during the school day, so I’ve taken it over now. I’ve been really blessed to have trained under amazing choir directors in grade school, and especially in college (yeah New Hoz!). So I’ve been passing on the techniques that they’ve shown me to the kids at the high school. The day we starting doing warm-ups, one of the kids said, “Finally, I’m enjoying chorus rehearsal!” So far, I’ve been doing stretches, breathing exercises and scales with them. We’ve only have four rehearsals, and there’s still a considerable amount of work to do in the way of singing fundamentals, basic musical concepts, and discipline, but hopefully by the Fall, we’ll have a great group.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “soundtrack

  1. Awesome, Laila! Tony has a guitar now. Maybe, you guys can collaborate :). Make sure you record and document your progress on the guitar.

    Posted by Ericka | April 25, 2012, 9:32 am
  2. yaah! Congrats, Laila! That’s awesome. When you come back to the States, you’ll have to teach me a few chords or two – I have an acoustic and electric that are collecting dust! Maybe I’ll be able to join you in a jam session!

    Posted by Tiffany Williams (@TiffanyRW22) | April 25, 2012, 7:47 pm
  3. That girl is so talented! Keep it up Laila :)

    Posted by candake | May 1, 2012, 7:48 am
  4. thanks, yall :)

    Posted by laila | May 31, 2012, 12:16 am

Leave a Reply

the script

1 Corin. 15:57-58
But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.

calendario

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

archivo

follow me as i follow @christ

by the way…

now that i've started blogging about the peace corps (and i'm an official volunteer), i have to tell you that all thoughts and views you read on this page are exclusively mine, and not those of the peace corps or the us government. after all, it's not called "us govt in real life."
