//
you're reading...
natural hair

protective styling

As I mentioned in my previous post, I’ve been passing time playing with my hair. Well, not playing playing, really just trying out different protective styles. Recently I’ve been seeing a lot of natural hair information sources talk about the importance of protecting the ends of your hair—since it’s the oldest and therefore, most vulnerable part of your hair. I can’t wear twists outs or braid outs here in the Dominican Republic, because the humidity just makes my hair shrink right up, and it would take me forever to detangle it all again. But that’s probably a good thing, because it really forces me to go with protective styling. I’m a fan of kimmaytube on youtube, and in this video, she talks about how using water, a leave in conditioner and protecting (tucking in) your ends helps retain length. Here are some styles I’ve been sporting lately:

Discussion

2 thoughts on “protective styling

  1. OMG! You’re hair is so long! You gotta love Kimmaytube! She is on point. Love those styles though.

    Posted by Candace | June 19, 2012, 11:59 am
  2. thank you! yes, kimmaytube is on point!

    Posted by laila | June 20, 2012, 2:26 pm

Leave a Reply

the script

1 Corin. 15:57-58
But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.

calendario

June 2012
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

archivo

follow me as i follow @christ

by the way…

now that i've started blogging about the peace corps (and i'm an official volunteer), i have to tell you that all thoughts and views you read on this page are exclusively mine, and not those of the peace corps or the us government. after all, it's not called "us govt in real life."
