//
you're reading...
languages, peace corps, year two

learning to teach

Two to three days a week I go to the homes of two 3rd graders to help them with reading. We go over letters (their names and the sounds that they represent), how they form syllables when paired with other letters or by themselves, and how those syllables come to form words. I’ve really enjoyed working with them, though it’s not been without its challenges. One of them seems to not like to think. We’ll review something over and over, and it’s pretty much hit and miss as to whether or not she says the right thing. She’s been trying to rely on her memory instead of processing the information. I’ve tried various methods to go over letters, sounds and syllables (which I’ll go over in another post), often to no avail. Sometimes she’s just closed to learning. But last week we had a breakthrough! I wrote “ba, be, bi, bo, bu” on the side walk with chalk and had her jump to the syllable that I called out to her. After a few rusty tries, she began to get all of them correct! After that I stood over the syllables and had her call them out; she again got them all right. I wanted to jump for joy. It’s been a challenge for me trying to figure out how I could get through to her, but I think things are finally starting to stick.

some of my alphabet cards. made out of posterboard and laminated with packaging tape. upper case on one side and lower case on the other.

PS – Thanks to my sisters and the Foresters I have a camera again! Thanks, guys! :)

Discussion

2 thoughts on “learning to teach

  1. Congrats on a breakthrough. It’s funny how kids minds are still so geared to learning that simple games work for them.

    Posted by tobetico | July 27, 2012, 9:46 am
    • thanks! making a game out of everything is def the trick. keep posting about your adventures in costa rica. it’s so cool to see what service is like in other parts of the world. :)

      Posted by laila | July 27, 2012, 12:49 pm

Leave a Reply

the script

1 Corin. 15:57-58
But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.

calendario

July 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

archivo

follow me as i follow @christ

by the way…

now that i've started blogging about the peace corps (and i'm an official volunteer), i have to tell you that all thoughts and views you read on this page are exclusively mine, and not those of the peace corps or the us government. after all, it's not called "us govt in real life."
