canto a mi Dios

Written Today 🙂

This past Sunday, I visited the church again. Even for a Pentecostal church, their services are long! Lol but I enjoyed myself. Their praise team is really good, as well as their musicians. I thought it would be a good idea to meet some of them, and sit in on a praise team rehearsal, just to build with them and be around musicians and singers in the faith again, and maybe learn some songs in Spanish. So after service I asked who was encargado de (in charge of) the praise and worship team, and asked her if I could sit in. Last night (Monday), I went to the rehearsal. When I got there, they asked me if I sang, and asked me to sing for them. Then they kept asking me to sing other songs in English, and were particularly interested in the Hillsong songs that I knew. Before I knew it, there were about 15 people crowded around me listening to me sing. I guess I didn’t mind, but I always feel weird whenever I sing solos and people watch. I just get that clammy feeling. That’s why I like leading praise and worship. Everyone else is singing along with me, and the focus is just on God. But it was cool either way. They also asked me what church I go to back home, and I had a really hard time trying to translate Millennium Revival Center. One of the girls had me type it in Google and I got really excited when they pulled up the Web site.

When rehearsal started, I took a seat, and just enjoyed being there. It was good to be around other Christian musicians again. It was getting late, and I was about to tip out early when they called me up to where they were forming a circle. One of the singers asked me to sing “Here I am to Worship,” which we had gone over before they started rehearsing. So I grabbed a mic. It was a lot of fun. 🙂 SO….on Wednesday, I’ll be singing with the praise team for their service. 🙂 I’m pretty excited.

Re: critters – There’s a big, brown spider that has taken up residence in the corner of our living room. When I came out of my room to take a picture of it, I also saw a gecko crawling around on the wall above the windows. As far as ants, man, I don’t even fight with them anymore. I’ve just kind of resolved that I’m destined to share a space with them regardless. I share my bedroom with ants, the kitchen with ants….shoot, I’m pretty sure I’ve eaten a few ants in my food as it is. I think that’s really the only revenge I could ever hope to have against them.

3 thoughts on “canto a mi Dios

  1. Yay Lailannnd! Look at you sangin’ everywhere you go! Lol. I’m glad you’ll have the opportunity to sing with a group again. Your experience in DR keeps getting better and better. I look forward to reading more. Take care 🙂

  2. Laila!!! We miss you dearly but I am glad to know that you are enjoying yourself, sangin (lol), and giving shouts out to MRC in the DR! Laila keep God first in all that you do and keep that smile on your face. Just know that we miss you and keep the bugs there upon your return, LOL!!

Leave a Reply

