my site

Written Sunday, May 8, 2011

On Tuesday, we got our site assignments. I opened my assignment packet and read the first few sentences that graced the cover letter:

  • You are about to embark on a journey that will change your life.
  • Peace Corps will give you the opportunity to directly affect the lives of many people.
  • You will see these effects and carry them with you for the remainder of your life.
  • You will also have the opportunity to live in another’s shoes.

That’s a pretty deep way to open a letter. And I don’t think this was fluff, spin or “good PR” that the author of this letter penned; I really believe the words that they wrote to be true. So, here I am, at the cusp of realizing a desire I’ve had for at least the last five years. To say I’m excited would be an understatement.

I met my project partner—who is amazing—on Wednesday, and then we drove to my site. I love it! I’ll be following up on the work of a previous volunteer, which has its advantages and drawbacks. But all-in-all, I’m really looking forward to the ride.

I’ll keep this post a lot shorter than the previous one, but the last thing I’ll do is make a shameless push to encourage my family and friends to visit me by saying that the previous volunteer’s family rented a resort home with three floors, five beds, four bathrooms, a pool, kitchen, dining room and deck within walking distance from the beach for just USD$125 per night. And it was wooooooonferful!! 🙂 Pics below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “my site

  1. Great site! I had in my mind that I was going to come visit you at some point, but after looking at the pictures of the resort I KNOW that I’m coming! Count me and and tell me which one is going to be my room. Can’t wait to see you!

  2. Hi Sweetheart.
    You’re lookin’ good!

    This is FAB U LUX…(lol)…ENJOY…Your family looks great too. Thanks for sharing. I received an email from your predecessor’s mom. I’ll respond to her soon…Please keep grandmama in prayer…she’s losing weight…she did have a good appetite today…still have to make her drink and eat generally…love you very musssshhh…kiss yourself for me love me

Leave a Reply

