on my (sciatic) nerve?

Written Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Yesterday, I was experiencing leg pain for much of the day, but nothing really debilitating. Last night I was woken by a painful sensation in my leg that I’ve never experienced. It was so intense! I tried going back to sleep, and finally I did. A few hours later, I was woken up again; this time the pain was unbearable. I couldn’t sleep it off. It felt like burning or pressure or just pain. I wanted to cut my leg off. I couldn’t really pin point the exact location of the pain, but it was on my left side. My eyes started to tear and I felt myself whimpering. “God, what is this??” I wondered. After trying fruitlessly to shake the pain and go back to sleep for what felt like half an hour. I reached for my phone. Did I really want to call the on-call doctor at 4am? I know that’s what they’re there for, but I didn’t want to do it. What would she tell me? Get on the first bus to the capital in the morning? And besides, I didn’t want to do that; I was starting my English class in the afternoon—the first thing that I would have actually “done” in my site, other than interviewing people. “Oh, God, please help me!” I cried out under my breath. Another ten minutes or so must have passed by. I tried elevating my leg, switching positions, and had I had I hatchet, I think I really would have tried cutting my leg off. I didn’t know what else to do. Finally I just cried out, “Jesus!” in an intense whisper. “Jehovah Rapha, send your healing.” I repeated these things until I was able to fall asleep. Thank God for relief. Today I paid careful attention to my leg in light of last night’s episode. Not a lot of activity, praise God. Hopefully tonight I can rest easily. If things still persist in a few days, I’ll have to get in touch with the doctors after all. I’m not a big fan of doctor visits. The only doctor I really care for is Jesus; he doesn’t charge a co-pay…or (to update it to Peace Corps terms) he won’t make me go to the noisy, dusty capital for healing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

