the Lord is good, so give him thanks

 

givethanks

 

I’ve shared this a few times this past week, and in the true spirit of the Thanksgiving holiday, I’ll share it with you. Sometimes when I feel myself getting down, or when I’m distracted from the truth of God’s goodness, I bring myself back into focus by taking a page out of the book of the writer of Psalm 136.

In the psalm, the author starts with an invitation to the reader: to give thanks to the Lord, because He’s good. He continues with a declaration that echoes in our ears, hearts and minds: The steadfast love of the Lord endures forever. It never stops. It’s eternal. It keeps going on and on. As a reminder of God’s goodness, the author goes through a litany of many feats that Jehovah has wrought for his people–creating great wonders, bringing them out of bondage, striking down oppressive rulers on their behalf, etc.

Sometimes I recite this psalm, while filling the personal victories the Lord has done in my own life. Here’s one I wrote in my journal in August:

 

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good,
His steadfast love for me is forever.

He is the God who’s always working but is never too busy.
His steadfast love for me is forever.

No demon or devil can defeat Him.
His steadfast love for me is forever.

He is my father whose voice is louder than lies.
His steadfast love for me is forever.

He will never let me suffer for too long.
His steadfast love for me is forever.

He is the one who calms my anxiety.
His steadfast love for me is forever.

He is faithful to defend me and rebuild my walls.
His steadfast love for me is forever.

When faced with the threat of an imminent fear he dispelled lies and spoke his love over me.
His steadfast love for me is forever.

He commands his angels to watch over and fight for me when I’m weak.
His steadfast love for me is forever.

He loved me more than he loved being royalty.
His steadfast love for me is forever.

 

On this day where we consider what we’re thankful for, and any time you feel yourself focusing more on your frustrations and problems than on God’s goodness, I invite you to make your own declaration of some of the good things the Lord has done in your life.

What are you thankful for today?

 

Leave a Reply

